Wolfson Press and 42 Miles Press are publishing arms of Indiana University South Bend and are associated with the Pub Hub, a publishing center within the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

The third annual $1,000 Wolfson Poetry Chapbook Prize is an award for a chapbook-length manuscript (maximum 40 pages, minimum 25 pages) of original poems in English with a submission fee of $15.00. Winning manuscripts will be published by Wolfson Press, a nonprofit organization belonging to Indiana University South Bend. Although the contest judge selects only one winner annually, we may offer to publish a small number of select finalists in addition to the prize winner. The contest judge is Nancy Botkin, author (most recently) of The Next Infinity (Broadstone Books 2019). The 2021 winner was Steven Ostrowski's Persons of Interest. We also published John Surowiecki's The Place of the Solitaires. The second annual winner is Renee Agatep, whose chapbook Ohio Radio will appear in 2023. We also have a chapbook forthcoming by Jim Daniels

  • You may submit more than one manuscript, but each manuscript must be submitted separately, accompanied by a separate contest fee of $15.
  • All poems must be original in English (no translations).
  • Manuscripts may be a collection or a single long poem. 
  • Manuscripts should be set in 12-point type, and pages should be numbered.  
  • Include a table of contents. (Note that the tile page, table of contents, and other front and back matter do not count toward the manuscript page limit of 25-40 pages.)
  • If individual poems have been published, include an acknowledgments page listing previously published poems and the publications where they first appeared.
  • If your manuscript is accepted by another publisher while under consideration for the Wolfson Prize, please withdraw it from this competition by writing to us through Submittable. Entry fees cannot be refunded. 
  • Failure to comply with these guidelines may disqualify the entry. 
Wolfson Press